Life, mediated

OK, I could’ve come up with a less-pretentious title for the first post here, but where would be the fun in that?

I have, as many folks know, quite an extensive (if somewhat covert) online presence already, but I realized that the vast majority of it contains content of questionable taste and a lot of swearing, so this is my attempt at looking like far more of an upstanding citizen than I really am.

Before I get into my usual business of rants, raves and pointless blather, an explanation for this blog’s name:

My entire life has been surrounded and driven by media, both as a consumer and creator/producer. As a wee thing, I learned the radio biz at my dad’s knee, and now, ~40 years later, I write novels and occasionally get paid to write articles and play with photos and video for various companies. There really hasn’t been any time in my life when getting and providing information and/or entertainment via various mass-distribution methods hasn’t been an indelible part of my identity.

On the creation and production end, I sometimes like to think of myself as a serious artist or journalist doing their best to get quality stuff to audiences, but that’s more a place of self-actualization I haven’t yet reached. For now, I’m just part of the everday ebb and flow of data. Which is fine. There may be no Pulitzers, Hugos or Grammys in my future (near or otherwise), but I try to do well with the opportunities I have, and always strive to learn and improve at what I do.

On the consumer end, I’m an unabashed pop culture geek, and will, if one stands still long enough, babble endlessly in a tiresome fashion about my favorite shows, movies, etc., and the awesome people who make them. I’m probably going to keep most of my overt fanthinging to my other spaces, but expect at least some butt-wiggling squee here from time to time.

In between these two places is the space I occupy the most: watching the wheels of the machine spin. I’m fascinated not just by the genesis of creation and its end results, but the crazy whirlwind of stuff that happens in between those things. There is a huge gulf between creator and audience, and it’s filled with a lot of different people running in various hamster wheels to make it happen. Many of these people are soulless cretins, who are intent only on using the talent and spirit of others to make a buck. But there are also a lot of other honest, hard-working people in the trenches–including yours truly, on occasion–who make it happen.

So, while I consider myself both creator and audience, at different times, what I really am most often is a mediator between the two; a conduit through which that data flows. It’s weird, to be sure, but I kinda like it.

If any of this interests you, feel free to pull up a chair and set a spell. Fair warning that I can get mouthy about politics (especially social issues) and I don’t actually guarantee that there won’t be profanity, but I hope what I post here proves to be at least somewhat amusing, if not enlightening. Welcome. :)

About Shawna (A Mediated Life)

Writer, singer, parent, fan, media maven, and general ne'er-do-well. Fierce protector of the rights of the disadvantaged and endless pontificator on subjects both ridiculous and sublime.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

